Choose: Leave the Country or Die

In case you missed it, a community health care center manager, Sharon Omand of Strafford, New Hampshire called her state senator, Martin Harty, back in March expressing concerns about her state’s move to eliminate funding for community health care programs. The state senator told her “the world is too populated” and that there are too many “defective people.” When Omand asked what should be done with these “defective people” that are mentally ill, Harty suggested sending them to Siberia, and let them freeze to death. This state senator wasn’t kidding and made no apologies for his comments when pressed further by local media.

In case you missed it, at a recent town hall meeting, an elderly woman made the following statement:

“I’m fine with my Medicare, and my children and my grand children — my children especially — would have a lot of heartburn if they know that I’m not on Medicare, because that voucher is not going to go very far,” said the woman.

Georgia Congressman Rob Woodall, responded to the woman by suggesting that she might find the type of health care she and her family wants in Canada, as if to say that she might want to move to another country, like Canada, to continue to receive anything like socialized medical care.

Both of these politicans are…republicans. Surprised? How could you be?

Republican politicians are offering a voucher system to seniors that will allow them to buy insurance from private insurance companies. Private insurance companies don’t WANT senior citizens as clients because senior citizens can become very expensive to cover as their health starts to fail. Seniors are costly, and most seniors are not rich. Vouchers will likely not allow them much, if any, private insurance. So, the solution seems to be this: if you’re not wealthy enough to have private insurance or pay for your own health care needs, you need to think about dying or moving out of the country.

I have been shocked by republican comments most of my lfe. See: Joe McCarthy, Richard Nixon, and any George Bush.

A few years ago, “religious” republicans marched in front of women’s health clinics because, they said, they were making people aware that “murder” was being committed in these places. They fought abortion through boycott, public meetings…and yes, murder. Some politicians, including Iowa House republicans still preach that sermon. Recently, two bills sponsored by Iowa House Republicans could create a “wild west” kind of atmosphere in that state. They want a law that would make it legal to use deadly force against abortion or family planning providers. The two pieces of legislation together would create a situation where a fertilized egg could be protected by allowing “public execution” of anyone who would threaten it. A few years ago, a man shot and killed Dr. George Tillman, a doctor who performed abortions. He was killed when leaving his church after a Sunday service: poetic justice? Yes, because when you are executing people, it’s a good idea to “play God” in a church. The shooter was convicted of murder and is serving prison time: this pair of bills, upon approval, would allow such actions to occur with no fear of arrest or incarceration. Many religious people justify murder when the future of a nonviable group of cells is at risk. Whether or not I believe in abortion is not the point: the point is that people want to play judge, jury and executioner because of their personal point of view. Some of these same religious people feel that gays are demons, and people who do not follow the religious practices of their particular religion have no chance “in Hell” of ever getting into Heaven. Apparently, God has given a number of people on Earth appointments to the Eternal Courts.

Gays, too, are the targets of a great deal of hatred and persecution by conservatives who claim to be people of faith. To them, gays have no rights. To them, gays make the choice to live the lifestyle. A number of republican politicians speak out loudly against homosexuality, but have proven that they live the “down low” lifestyle when nobody’s looking.

As a liberal, I would never propose violence, despite the fact that many things the right stands for repulse me. I have accepted that many people are different from me: they live and believe in different ways from me. BUT, I don’t feel that it is up to me to condemn them or suggest that they should die or be banished for their lifestyles or beliefs. I have become active in other ways. I have always voted to support my beliefs. I have compaigned for people whom I support. I have told my students that they can be powerful through their vote. Even though we know that votes don’t always work in our favor (See Bush, 2000: Florida), we know that they can have a great impact on our country (See Kennedy, 1960 and Obama 2010). We can have a great impact as a collective. I sometimes have been able to deal with personal political losses with the idea that some republican had to get his Rolls Royce out of the garage to have his driver take him to the polls, only have that vote cancelled out by MY vote.   

On another subject, Paul Ryan was priceless on MEET THE PRESS this weekend. When asked about the poll in which 80% of respondents stated that they opposed Ryan’s plan to eliminate Medicare, Ryan responded this way:

“Leaders are elected to lead. I don’t consult polls to tell me what my principles are or what my policies should be…We are going to try to move these polls or change these polls because that’s what the country wants.”

It sounds like we elect people who have no intention of representing us once they get sworn in. They represent large businesses, the privileged, and the people who pay them to work for THEM…not for the electorate. Eight out of ten people oppose the elimination of Medicare, but that means nothing to Paul Ryan and his ilk.

My mother asked me recently why I made out my will. She fears that I’m ill and am  preparing for my own death. Yes, I am preparing for my death and, no, I’m not ill. I realized that I will be 55 years old soon and my affairs need to be in order should anything happen to me. BUT, I truly believe that there will come a time in my future when I will have to decide whether to spend all of my money to keep myself alive or die. I’m guessing that I won’t have a choice. Rich people get the meat and we get the bones. That has always been true, but it doesn’t seem fair when the rich expect us to give up what little we have so they are not burdened in any way: see TAXES.

You say you want a revolution
Well, you know
We all want to change the world
You tell me that it’s evolution
Well, you know
We all want to change the world
But when you talk about destruction
Don’t you know that you can count me out
Don’t you know it’s gonna be all right
all right, all right

You say you got a real solution
Well, you know
We’d all love to see the plan
You ask me for a contribution
Well, you know
We’re doing what we can
But when you want money
for people with minds that hate
All I can tell is brother you have to wait
Don’t you know it’s gonna be all right
all right, all right
Ah

ah, ah, ah, ah, ah…

You say you’ll change the constitution
Well, you know
We all want to change your head
You tell me it’s the institution
Well, you know
You better free you mind instead
But if you go carrying pictures of chairman Mao
You ain’t going to make it with anyone anyhow
Don’t you know it’s gonna be all right
all right, all right

Thank you, John Lennon and Paul McCartney.

FYI, I purposely don’t capitalize the word “republican.”

I can provide sources on request. I don’t make this stuff up. Sad but true.

NOTE: Corrections were made today because I referred to Paul Ryan as Ron Paul…I meant Rand Paul. At any rate, one of the republicans…

About smokefyre

I am a teacher and a pet lover. I am very opinionated, particularly when it comes to politics. I am a liberal. I support gun control, equal opportunities for all people, senior citizen rights, rights of the poor, rights of children, rights of animals and freedom to live without fear. I believe in environmental protection. I oppose ideals which oppress people already oppressed. I feel that ALL people have rights, not just the rich and the noisy. I am single, live a very small town, but have lived in both Los Angeles and Chicago and prefer the city. I am from the town in which I now live, and chose to return to be closer to my family. I kayak and garden. My musical interests are varied, save country music because it holds no appeal to me. I believe in the Golden Rule, although I fear it is being ignored in favor of selfishness and greed. I am generous and support many causes that I believe help make people's lives better. My religious views are vague at this point in my life. I abhor those who feel that their religious views need to be shared by everyone else. My patriotism can be summed up by one phrase: Of the people, by the people and for the people...NOT of some people, for some people, and by some people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

